Weekly Photo Challenge: Path

Each photo represents a literal depiction of this week’s theme, path. Each also symbolizes some aspect from my own life.

The first photo was the most recently taken. My mother is smoking a hand-rolled cigarette on her sidewalk with Oreo, one of two cats she lives with in the one-bedroom apartment she’s managed to keep for several  years now. She’s served as an interesting influence in my twenty-six years turning from religion to excess and back several times during her life. I visit more now she’s on a path toward recovery.

The building sits vacant across from the place my elementary school stood. The only remnants of Lincoln, the playground they put in when I was in school.

The pretty pink flowers grow on a tree across the street from my old Baptist church. Flowers symbolize my blossoming love for nature and my pursuit of philosophy-based approaches to life.

The train tracks and slide are found at or around Exchange Park. I spent time there as a kid with my best friend, Amanda. I also had my high school graduation party there with my best friend, Sami. The park sits next to the graveyard I used to visit, the place my mom cut fire wood from logs dumped by the city and many other places I remember from childhood.

I lived by the train tracks when I was growing up and have a special place in my mind for memories sparked by the rundown locations sprinkled across the East side of Waterloo.

One day, I followed the path my camera led me on and walked from Cedar Bend Park to Exchange Park to where Lincoln used to be. That is where that series of photos originated.

The path I took when I walked to classes at my public University in Cedar Falls is also represented. UNI is where I started writing poetry and making videos on a regular basis. I also developed a love of photographing everything.

The last photos are of the bike trail near The National Cattle Congress grounds and a dead end sign in the woods by the Cedar River. I took those when I walked home from my first job post-graduation one beautiful summer day. Those pictures symbolize my want to end this post… just kidding!

They tell me that I will go down all kinds of paths seeing all kinds of signs and sights until my shutter shuts and the battery dies for good! I’ll be snapping twigs underfoot and Polaroids of everything here in Iowa and anywhere else my path leads!

